A Voice for Teen Literature

The Rhode Island Teen Book Award is a collaborative project of the School Librarians of Rhode Island (SLoRI) and the Rhode Island Library Assocation (RILA).

The goal of the Rhode Island Teen Book Award is to promote quality literature for teens by highlighting well-written books that will be of interest to those between the ages of 14 and 18 years of age. It is the hope of the committee that by allowing teens to select the winner from each year's list of nominees, teens will be encouraged to not only read more, but also discuss the books they are reading with their friends and family at school, the local library, and at home. 

Selection Statement

The Rhode Island Teen Book Award Committee, composed of Rhode Island teachers, school librarians, public librarians, and paraprofessionals uses specific selection criteria to create an annual list of nominated titles. The committee is intentional in seeking books that affirm marginalized groups and champions stories and characters that reflect the lived experiences of Rhode Island youth as well as the larger world. The committee aims to provide a list of nominees that maintains diversity in race, gender, sexuality, family makeup, socioeconomic background and ability. Nominees are thoughtfully curated to allow all youth to be seen and their voices actively heard. 

Current RITBA Committee Membership


Chair: Sarah Hunicke (Portsmouth High School)  

Vice Chair: Kristin Munson (Lincoln Public Library)

Secretary:  Alyssa Taft ( Cranston Public Library)

Treasurer: Lee-Ann Galli (North Kingstown Public Library)

Social Media and Publicity

Kylie Woodmansee (Coventry Public Library)


Donna Broomfield (Woonsocket High School), Patricia Shawcross Buffington (Toll Gate High School), Tayla Cardillo (Cranston Public Library), Regina Connolly (Salve Regina University), Amanda Davia (Narragansett High School), Lee-Ann Galli (North Kingstown Public Library), Joanne Gongoleski (Narragansett High School), Arianna Grande (Narragansett High School), Danielle Grise (Porstmouth High School), Aliyah Harris (Coventry Public Library/Mansfield HS), Sarah Hunicke (Portsmouth High School), Sarah Hunzeker (Bishop Hendricken High School), Kelly Inman (West Warwick High School), Maura Keating (Classical High School), Colleen King (Westerly Public Library), Kristin Munson (Lincoln Public Library), Elise Petrarca (Cranston Public Library), Alyssa Taft (Cranston Public Library), Kylie Woodmansee (Coventry Public Library), Kimberly Yeaw (Providence Career & Technical Academy).