By Brandon Sanderson


Publishing information: Delacorte Press: New York, 2013

ISBN: 9780385743563

Pages: 386

Ages: 12 and up


Summary:At age eight, David watched as his father was killed by an Epic, a human with superhuman powers, and now, ten years later, he joins the Reckoners--the only people who are trying to kill the Epics and end their tyranny. (From NoveList)


Book talk:

This book does not hold back. It’s an edge of your seat read that will keep you up all night. Imagine if everyday people were suddenly granted super hero powers, but instead of using them responsibly they all turned into villains. These villains are called Epics. Under their crushing rule everyday people struggle to survive. David has sworn revenge against the Epic that killed his father and he seeks out the only group he believes can help him; The Reckoners. Brandon Sanderson is great at creating full realized worlds and characters. The ending of this book in particular will make you anxious for the next in the series.


Subject Headings & Major Themes:


    Super human abilities

    Guerilla Warfare

    Science Fiction




Awards & Reviews:
#1 New York Times Bestseller week of October 13, 2013


School Library Journal, vol 59, issue 7, p100

Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 28, p

Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2013


Discussion Questions and Ideas:


  1. If you gained super hero powers do you think you would become like the Epics? Why or why not?

  2. Do you approve of the Reckoners’ actions?

  3. Do you think David’s dad was right in any way?

  4. What do you think about David devoting his whole life to revenge? Would you have done the same?

  5. What are your thoughts on Calamity?

  6. What would your name be if you were an Epic? What would your weakness be?


Related Websites:

Author’s website –

Coppermind Wiki -



The Dangerous Days of Daniel X  by James Patterson

The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson

Orleans by Sherri Smith

The Vindico by Wesley King


Other Books by the Author:

The Rithmatist

Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians


Brandon Sanderson has also written books for adults including the Mistborn Trilogy, Elantris, Warbreaker, and The Stormlight Archive series. He is also known for completing the Wheel of Time series after Robert Jordan passed away in 2008.


About the Author:

As a child Brandon enjoyed reading, but he lost interest in the types of titles often suggested to him, and by junior high he never cracked a book if he could help it. This changed when an eighth grade teacher gave him Dragonsbane by Barbara Hambly.

Brandon was working on his thirteenth novel when Tor Books bought the sixth he had written. He was chosen to complete Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series.


He is the only author to make the short list for the David Gemmell Legend Award six times in four years, Brandon won that award in 2011 for The Way of Kings. The Emperor’s Soul won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novella. He has hit the New York Times Hardcover Fiction Best-Seller List seven times, with all three Wheel of Time books hitting the #1 spot.

He is currently living in Utah with his wife and children.